Can classic children’s literature inspire a new way of thinking about contemporary social challenges like environmentalism, gender equality and diversity?
That’s the question that created The Water Drop – a partnership project between four Nordic cultural institutions that connects classic children’s literature and the UN Sustainable Development Goals. By combining arts, science and the environment into an interactive program, The Water Drop wants to empower children to engage with and act on the big questions of our time. At the heart of this is the Young Curators initiative, which invites school children from Iceland, Denmark, Finland and Estonia to co-curate our public program over the next three years. 
The Water Drop was conceived by The Cultural Houses of Kópavogur, Iceland, the Hans Christian Andersen Museum in Denmark, the Moomin Museum in Finland and Ilon’s Wonderland in Estonia. The project is realized over the next three years with an international array of collaborators including institutions, museums, libraries, schools and independent cultural practitioners. 
The project is made possible by the generous support of The Icelandic Children's Cultural Fund, Kópavogur Art & Cultural Fund, Nordplus, Nordic Culture Fund and Erasmus Plus.




Commissioned and initiated by Director of Culture in Kópavogur Municipality:
Soffía Karlsdóttir


Project director: 

Sara Løve Daðadóttir 



Chus Martinez 


Event and Project Manager:

Indra Ragnarsdóttir


Head curator for Children and Young People at the Hans Christian Andersen Museum:

Mette Stauersbøl


Curator for international project:

Niels Bjørn Friis


Head curator for The Moomin Museum:
Riikka Kuittinen


Project Manager of Ilon’s Wonderland:
Maarja Kõuts





Marketing coordinator at Hans Christian Andersen Museum:

Lone Weidemann


Communication coordinator at The Moomin Museum:

Heli Hakala


Marketing and Communication Director for The Cultural Houses in Kópavogur:

  Irís María Stefánsdóttir 


Public relations manager for Kópavogur Municipality:

Sigríður Björg Tómasdóttir 


Writer and coordinator:

Nele Ruckelshausen 


Visual Concept and creation:

Kiosk Studio 



Kiosk Studio



Kiosk Studio

Tsukasa Yamamoto


In Iceland

Vigdís Una Tómasdóttir

Lóa Arias

Íva Jovisic

Fjóla Kristín Sveinbjörnsdóttir

Freyja Lóa H. Sigríðardóttir


In Finland 

Maisa Kiviniitty

Minea Engman

Ines Väänänen


In Denmark

Mathilde Aagaard Andersen

Kirstine Hjarsbæk Sørensen

Olivia Caroline Rosenfeldt Lacy


In Estonia 

Elsa Johanna Talvistu

Moona Ojasoo



Facilitator in Iceland:

Salvör ‘Salka’ Þórarinsdóttir


Facilitator in Denmark:

Mette Kiilerich 

Nanna Møllegard Madsen


Facilitator in Finland:
Minna Honkasalo


Facilitator in Estonia:
Triin Reemann 



The Cultural Houses in Kópavogur 


Hans Christian Andersen Museum 


The Moomin Museum 


Ilon’s Wonderland







©Moomin CharactersTM